Anne Somerville is the first awarded by the department, recipient of the William L Power Scholarship. 


About the Scholarship:

Qualified applicants must be Juniors or Seniors undergraduates majoring in Religion. Selection criteria are based exclusively on the following: excellence in overall grades as well as grades in the major; a demonstrated strong interest in Theology and the Philosophy of Religion as indicated by courses taken immediately related to central questions of Christian Theology, Philosophical Theology, and Philosophy of Religion; and a submitted research paper (minimum of eight pages, not counting the required footnotes/endnotes and bibliography) dealing with some subject related directly to a topic in these areas of study. Selection of recipients will not be based on financial need. Scholarship recipients will be reviewed and selected by an appointed Awards Committee in the Department of Religion.