Skip to main content
Skip to main menu Skip to spotlight region Skip to secondary region Skip to UGA region Skip to Tertiary region Skip to Quaternary region Skip to unit footer


Advisory Committee

Before the end of the first year of residence, the student must choose a faculty advisory committee and must file the proper Advisory Committee form with the Graduate School. The Advisory Committee consists of the major professor and minimum of three additional graduate faculty members, all of whom agree to serve on the committee. The major professor cannot be a lecturer and must be a member of Religion Department. The committee may include one graduate faculty from other departments in the university but cannot include lecturers unless they are graduate faculty (for either qualifying examination or dissertations). It is the responsibility of the advisory committee, working together with the student, to determine the student’s program of study. (Changes may be made in the Advisory Committee during a student’s residence, especially at the dissertation stage.) Forms can be obtained at All information on the form must be typed including names of committee members in the appropriate boxes.

The Advisory Committee, in consultation with the student, is charged with planning the student’s program of study. It is also charged with approving the program of study, reading and approving the dissertation, and administering the written exam and oral defense. The Major Professor has the primary responsibility for guiding your research, but you should consult all members of the Advisory committee to draw upon their expertise in relevant areas.

Since the Advisory Committee must be chosen by the end of the first year of residence, this means that a major area of concentration must also be selected, since the major professor will represent that major area. (Current faculty members with their areas of interest can be found on the departmental website.) 

Every dollar given has a direct impact upon our students and faculty.